Hot answers tagged advertising
20
For a tech blog/website, then $1 CPM (that is, $1 for every thousand hits) is the kind of level I've personally seen, and I get the impression that's not atypical. So, for $1,000/month in revenue I would need 1,000,000 hits. But obviously if your market is such that people are willing to pay more for clicks then you'll get more, and if they're willing to ...
11
It's hard to scale because you have to use salespeople; either for inside sales or door-to-door.
In that space, a very good sales person can average 1 sale per day and so the cost of acquisition turns out to be higher than the local businesses can often afford to spend. For instance, if a sale costs you about $500 (salesperson's commission + related sales ...
5
Give each coupon a unique identifier (a serial number in effect) and then track when a coupon is used recording the used identifier to prevent it being used multiple times.
Another option is to plan the promo in such a way that you have to do nothing and actually use people photocopying them as free marketing - it might not work in your scenario but it is ...
3
I think the phrase "fake content" pretty well sums it up.
Fake users are not community users - and real users will resent / bail / never sign up again if they smell anything that resembles chicanery. Can't blame them - who wants their name and reputation to be associated with a lie?
If your offerings value proposition cannot be demonstrated without fake ...
3
You can't. You should assume that they can and will mimic anything you make public that shows any success.
It's the things behind the scenes like who you target, what information you collect/use, and the overall strategy that needs to be your secret sauce. If you can hide the success then they won't even know what to mimic. ;)
And you should do the same. ...
3
Since you are building a startup, I assume you don't have much traffic to your site. I think you should focus on generating value/content for your site first before you think about the monetizing part. To start, you should use adsense for simplicity.
Like what the rest have said, you probably need millions of impressions to start seeing substantial earnings ...
2
I've been working with free apps now for the last 3 years, many of them in top position in Apple appstore, Google play and Windows Phone, with several hundred million impressions per months, here are my 2 cents.
First off, we start with iOS and Android:
Choose a ad mediation network rather then a single ad network.
And ad mediation network let's you use ...
2
Honestly, forget about using adwords. There is obviously not the volume you need.
You need to ask yourself "Where do engineers go to find information about software?" (I'll give you a clue - it's not Facebook or Twitter.) Talk to a few. They will soon tell you.
Places you could try looking at are:
Sponsoring Industry association events
Trade shows (when ...
2
I read somewhere that the average CTR for iAds is between 0.5% - 1% (depending on your market) with an average EPC of $0.20 being banded about. So basing it on a best case scenario for you would be:
Revenue per day
2000 * 1% * 0.2 = $4
Revenue per month
2000 * 1% * 0.2 * 30 = $120
Only way to tell is to try it and give it time. If you hit a freakish ...
2
CPM rates vary by vertical according to the number of advertisers. The more advertisers there are, the higher the price.
For example, there are dozens of online brokers promoting a trading account/platform, so anything related to stocks or investing will have a high CPM. On the other hand, there are fewer grocers advertising online, so those ads cost (and ...
2
I would address your question from a different perspective. I agree that without ads your site looks cleaner and more people will likely use it, but this has a cost for you. It is the missing advertising revenues.
So your question could be: how much am I willing to pay for a cleaner site?
Calculating (roughly) your missing revenues is not very difficult. ...
2
For growing your business owner base, the ROI calculation is actually pretty simple. You calculate the value of each user (and since they pay for the service, this calculation shouldn't be too complicated) and divide that by the cost of campaign, per user who signs up.
Putting numbers on this, if a user is worth $100 in revenue, and your campaign cost you ...
2
There two main options depending what platforms the mobile app is on and if you want to use one company or are happy to spread it.
iAds http://advertising.apple.com/
Google mobile ads http://www.google.com/ads/mobile/
Both of the solutions utilise details about the apps they apear on and the users of the hand set.
If you already advertise with google ad ...
2
Here is the canonical US reference. And yes, it doesn't reference anything about migrating existing subscribers.
Most mailing services publish best practice guides & suggest sending out a confirmation email to existing list members older than 6 months to confirm their interest (double opt-in). If you have a good mailer, it will capture the ...
2
There are a variety of reasons to do this, some include:
artificial scarcity
hype surrounding being an early adopter
loss leader approach: the first to buy pays little, the next pays full rate
prevent excessive reselling via non-traditional and/or unapproved channels (eg eBay)
attract a larger initial customer base, viewing additional purchases per ...
2
Adsense doesn't offer the best prices, but they have a large inventory which would help delivering the right ad to the right people. The better the targeting, the better the performance.
Most startups run different ad networks on different pages to see which one yields the highest return, just be careful that there is no over lap or this doesn't violate ...
2
I put together an advertising program for a company website a number of years ago. In a nutshell, a few of my takeaways:
It takes a LOT of page views to make any kind of money. 1,000 views of an ad might get you pennies. (There may or may not be a big difference in going CPM vs. CPC but I'd use CPM as a good way for a ballpark idea of what kind of money ...
2
To answer the question is it a common solution, I have no doubt many sites and services do do this. Indeed their are a raft of companies that actually offer setting up fake or puppet accounts on your behalf.
Should you do this, that's a different question you have 3 distrinct areas to think about; Legal, moral, return
Legal: Is it actually legal in your ...
1
Adverts are almost always annoying, which is why I have an ad-blocker in my browser and hardly ever watch live TV (Sky+ lets you skip adverts easily).
It depends on the expectations of your users, but generally people react negatively to adverts, as they are so poorly targeted and repetitive.
1
Google Adsense knows best. Google takes into consideration not only the content of the current visited website of your users, but also his previous websites and his ads "profile" on google.
Think about it, its one of Google's main sources of revenue + they have access to the users history (each site that displays adsense can track the visiting user, right?) ...
1
I think it depends. In certain categories of rental (e.g. bouncy castles), the rule is generally that if you purchase the product from a licensed manufacturer, you're safe to use images of it in advertisements and on your web site. This is especially important to things like Disney themed items. As far as electronic equipment goes, you might want to just ...
1
You can ask existing users of website for email opt-in using a beautiful javascript based dialog which could pop-up next time they log in or visit the website. Just take care to ask them with Yes and No button so that they won't need to type their email address.
Further, don't forget to put unsubscribe link in the footer of emails. If there are many ...
1
Yes, you can send an email out to your users. You should let them know how you acquired their email address (normally this is written in the footer) and give them the option to unsubscribe if they choose.
There are many services that will make sure that you are sending newsletters in a proper way. I'm a huge proponent of Mailchimp which will guide you ...
1
Director of Marketing
Marketing Director
VP of Marketing
Marketing Department
Marketing Intern.
Would all fit the description depending on the level of direction and responsibility. But, that all sounds like marketing/advertising to me.
Should you hire or contract it out depends on how much YOU understand what and how it should be done. If you don't ...
1
I think you are correct, you will surely get more impressions using modified broad match. It's good that you are not using exact match terms, as it will be hard to get impressions by it. Well, it might be possible that your quality score decreases, but it shouldn't bother you much after seeing the advantages. You may also try this link for knowing Adwords ...
1
The Revenue Model, is a very vital part of your product (unless, of course your product is a fun-oriented Instagram-kinda one). There are several popular models that you could pick from, such as Ads, Freemium etc. But how you pick is not a casual decision.
If you pick a model where customers pay for your product/service, Pricing comes into the picture. ...
1
AdMob is based on impressions, not relevance -- there is no way to target ads to a particular niche; this based on reviewing Admob's help section and this article.
1
could it be the a "password generation" application is used for seconds, occasionally only to generate something and then quit? it's a utility, not an application you spend a lot of time in, such as games or content apps. I guess this could explain the reason for the disappointing ad results reported in the link.
1
We thought of starting business of selling website logos online few months back. Apart from logo designers, we needed web designers & SEO specialist team. And typically we required many other resources. Google adwords campaign seemed to be right idea to start with and we initially set our budget approximately 10,000$ a month. Our management was ...
1
Two considerations I'd suggest:
Figure out which audience converts better, parents or kids, and focus on them first. The more narrowly defined your target audience, the less additional variables you have to worry about that may be affecting conversion rates in other split tests.
Make sure you're targeting separate ads by platform; you want to keep your ...
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