I'm setting up an ad-supported website and trying to work through the numbers. I came across this article that gives a model. Being a newb at advertising, I've got quite a few questions:
- For CPM and CPC advertising, does it really take 1M pageviews to earn 3-4,000 pounds? If so, I'm screwed.
- Also, his model shows that CPM produces MUCH better revenue. Under his model, CPM KILLS CPC, even though he's using 20% of the ad space for CPM while using 100% for CPC. I was under the impression that CPC was the better revenue generator, no?
- Why is he assuming only 20% of the inventory is used for CPM while assuming 100% for everything CPC?
- On his CPM example, he has a clickthrough rate (.10%)...isn't the CTR irrelevant under a CPM ad?
- Why does he assume the CTR is 10x higher for CPC vs. CPM? Practically speaking, the user doesn't know if the add is CPC vs. CPM, so the CTR should be the same, right?
Sorry for so many questions all in one, but I'm just very confused and would like a little insight from someone familiar w/ ad-supported websites.